The Daily Dose with Dr. Daryl L. Williams

A Word every day to get you on your way!

Here is the Daily Dose for Wednesday, November 18, 2020.

I will not die. Instead, I will live to tell what the Lord has done. Psalm 118:17

Tell Your Story

I remember growing up in church and sitting through testimony time. Testimony time was when people would get up and tell their stories of how far the Lord had brought them. You would hear stories about people who had been in jail, found the Lord, and had set their lives on track. You would hear stories of people who were on drugs, then they found the Lord, and now they are clean, sober, and living for Jesus. You’d hear stories of miraculous physical healing, marriages that had been saved, and all manner of things that the Lord had done for people throughout life. To tell the truth, as a little child, I found the stories boring because you always knew how they would end, but as I got older, I went from bored to jealous.

I was jealous because I didn’t have a story like any of the ones I had heard growing up. I hadn’t been to jail, survived being on skid row, or recovered from a life-threatening illness. Even worse, I had two parents, a happy childhood, and while everything was not perfect, more or less, we had lived a modest but pretty comfortable life. It was because things had been relatively drama-free that I was jealous that I didn’t have one of those great testimony stories to tell. When I mentioned it to my father one day, he told me something interesting, “That’s their story. You get to tell your story.”

Friends, if you are reading this, that means you are still alive. If you are still alive, then you have a story of what God has done for you. It may not be as dramatic and some other stories. It may not have twists, turns, and a miraculous turnaround like someone else did. And that is fine. Your story is your story, and you need to tell it. It is your story that may reach, inspire, and speak to that other person that has a story like yours and let them see that God is in the life of people like you. But most of all, God has kept you, and that is worth talking about. So take some time to tell your story. You never know who might be listening.

Be Blessed,

Rev

Leave a comment